A Day in the Life…

I get asked all the time, “What do you eat?” I believe in moderation. I believe in enjoying food. I believe in taking care of my body. Put this all together, and you get a predominantly plant-based diet rarely depriving myself of “that treat” needed each day. Here is a typical day. Honestly, everyday is different. I’m not one of those people who can eat the same thing all the time. I like to try new foods. This is a sample of what one day might look like. Take it or leave it 🙂

*****

My workout on a day like this would either be a crosstraining day (45 min), a sprint day (routine depends on the week), or a tempo run (distance depends on the week). The rest of my day is up walking around at my job and standing at the computer. This looks very different on long run days, and none of us are perfect. So I will follow up this post with what happened on my 18mile run day. Let’s just say, none of us can be perfect 🙂

*****

Breakfast:

   

*1/4 C Oatmeal, 2 Tbl. Almond butter w/ flaxseed, 1 small banana, 1 cup piping hot black tea

Calorie Count: 390

****

Lunch and Snack: Lunch is typically eaten in 2 parts (when I have time), and then the snack is about 3-4 hours later.

 

Lunch: 1 C mango and strawberries, 8 oz. plain, non-fat, greek yogurt, 1/2 C Kashi GoLean, 1/4 C 60% cocoa chips, 1 turkey sandwich

Calorie Count: 508

Snack: 1 oz. plain almonds

Calorie Count: 170

*****

Dinner:

Taco Salad!

1+ C Romaine, 1/4 C reduced fat cheese, ground turkey w/ taco seasoning, 2 tbl. light french or catalina, (not pictured: a few tostitos scoops crumbled on top for crunch), (not pictured: 1 C fruit, varies)

Calorie Count: ~350

*****

Treat:

(Not pictured: Root Beer Float- 1 C light vanilla ice cream + Diet root beer =240 calories)

*****

Grand Total:

~ 1738

*****

Are you the kind of person that eats the same thing all the time? If so, what’s ONE thing you have EVERY day?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. ORANGE JUICE! Have to have it every morning. It’s a sad day when there’s no oj in the house. Unfortunately, this morning was one of those days….haha.

    Reply
  2. Mary Snedeker

     /  May 10, 2011

    Hummus:)

    Reply
  1. A Dietitian’s Pantry « Ramblings of an RD

Leave a Reply

