Speed Day Triumph

My marathon training program is as follows: 3 days cross training 45 min., 3 days running (1 day speed, 1 day tempo, 1 long). This past week’s runs were 4×1600 for speed day, 8 miles for tempo, and 20 for long (coming tomorrow). I promised that I would share my own dietary pitfalls on a long run day… however, I can’t remember at all what I ate on my last long run day.

*****

This brings up a good point. For those of you wanting to lose weight, food diaries can be such a great tool. A day can come and go, and I won’t remember 100% of the food that I ate. There is no way for me to know how many calories I consume unless I keep track of it! So write your food down as soon as you eat it!

*****

So instead, I’ll share my speed day info. The day went well, but I also want you to see that anybody can run/workout even if you think you’re not athletic. I run. I consider myself a runner. I’m not a great runner. I’m average. It works for me. I’m not trying to be the fastest person out there, and I definitely never could be. I just know how important running is to my health. So I do it. Do I LOVE running? Can’t say that I do. Do I LOVE the feeling I get after I’m done. ABSOLUTELY. That’s why I run and train. Because it’s good for me. I could make a list 100 items long about the benefits… I won’t. But check out my times for these miles. Fast? Not really. Fast for me? Yes. And I was thrilled with how I pushed myself (with Sadie keeping me going, of course 🙂 Thanks pup).

*****

Wake-up: 6:30am

Pre-Run Snack: banana

Just changed running shoes! Love the feeling of new shoes!

Run: 7am (4x1600m, approx. 1 min walk in between)

  • Mile 1: 9:07
  • Mile 2: 8:38
  • Mile 3: 8:28
  • Mile 4: 8:27
  • Done.

Work: 10am

Breakfast:

  • The usual: oatmeal w/ almond butter and skim milk

Lunch:

  • Plain greek yogurt, 1 C strawberries, 1/4 C walnuts; 1 C Quinoa salad over romaine (leftovers are my favorite!)
  • (Have I convinced you to try quinoa yet? It’s my favorite food. I call it a super food :))

    Plain Quinoa

    This is not my picture, but it looks just as yummy 🙂

Afternoon Snack:

  • Carrots, edamame hummus (DELICIOUS!)

Work Over: 7pm

Dinner:

  • Romaine w/ tomatoes, whole grain croutons and yogurt blue cheese dressing; Grilled chicken breast; Mixed fresh fruit  (strawberries, pineapple)

*****

Overall, very successful day. My morning run set the tone for the day for sure. What little victory have YOU had lately?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

