Summer Bounty

Summer is my favorite time of the year. I know, I know, fall is the favorite for most, and trust me, it’s a close second. But I LOVE the produce in the summer. I really can’t get enough of it. Berries and asparagus followed by melons, green beans, tomatoes, peaches, eggplant, zucchini, summer squash and more! Some apples and squash are even ready in the summer (I know because I’ve had some delicious farm fresh varieties πŸ™‚ ).

*****

I tried my hand at a small garden this year…

I was a little ambitious...

Herbs and Veggies!

A few weeks after planting

Tonight! Lots of hot banana peppers hanging on those leaves!

*****

Honestly, I don’t have a green thumb at all. I hate planting, and I hate watering. I love the idea of gardening, but I don’t think its for me… My lovely potted tomato and herb plants are all dead as of several weeks ago. I’ve decided that next year I will purely rely on the bounty of my local farmers. πŸ™‚

*****

So let me share with you some of the AMAZING things I’ve been making, eating and enjoying this summer… thanks to wonderful farmers markets and Lynds Fruit Farm.

Toast w/ avocado, purple tomatoes and salt/pepper!

Random salad w/ tomatoes, zucchini, corn, beans and peppers!

Whole grain rotini w/ tomato, kale, zucchini, and parm!

Eggplant parmesan made with this HUGE eggplant (for $1 only!)

Hubby likes squash now! A little brown sugar can go a long way! πŸ™‚

Click on the pic for this recipe! Chicken tacos! Yumm!

Zucchini Oatmeal Muffins! These are seriously the BEST zucchini muffins!!

Doesn't this look cozy πŸ™‚ Click on the pic for this recipe!

*****

*****

Not shown: many, many meals of whole grain pasta w/ fresh tomatoes, garlic, and basil. That has been my staple and quick go-to meal! Still following the Plate method by also serving a huge salad and making sure the pasta is FILLED with tomatoes!

YUMMMM!!!

*****

*****

What have YOU been making this summer? What’s your favorite summer harvest item?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

