Lazy Weekend Fluffy Whole Wheat Pancakes

Mornings where everyone is at home (including me) and we can have a “special” breakfast are few and far between in this household. So when a rare weekend morning presented itself this past week, I took advantage! One of my husband’s favorite things is chocolate chip pancakes. Typically, I end up making the boxed quick version for him and a whole grain version for myself. This day was different! Not sure what got into him, but when I asked the usual, “would it be ok if I just make whole wheat for everyone?” he replied, “sure!” WHAT?!? Alright! No further questions from me…

This recipe was awesome. So quick and easy! Very few ingredients which I love and so mild that it seems very similar to “white.” (The white whole wheat flour is my secret ingredient :)…so tender and lighter in color)

Fluffy Whole Wheat Pancakes– makes 14-16, approx. 4 in pancakes

Ingredients:

2 Cups white whole wheat flour

1 tsp, baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

3 Tbl. sugar

1 tsp. salt

2 eggs

2 Cups homemade buttermilk (2 Tbl. white vinegar + Skim milk to make 2 C)

4 Tbl. unsweetened applesauce

Mix-ins: dark chocolate chips, bananas, blueberries, pecans

Directions:

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl. Add wet ingredients to the bowl and whisk until just incorporated. Do not overmix. Let stand about 5 minutes while griddle preheats (I like mine on about 300 degrees). Use a 1/4 cup measure for equal sized pancakes. Add mix-ins and wait till bubbles form to flip. Cook until lightly golden brown on each side. ENJOY! These were a huge hit!

****

Visit this site for my equally delicious pumpkin pancake recipe!

*****

What’s your favorite thing to make on the weekends?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

