Gluten Free Black Bean Brownies and Training Update

First things first… brownies! I’ve been wanting to try black bean brownies for awhile now and finally got the afternoon to do it. I saw a recipe published in a magazine and was inspired to change it up a bit based on the ingredients I have at home and also keep it Gluten Free for my GF readers/friends out there.  I was also able to use my favorite kitchen toy which has also been put to good use each week for my favorite salsa recipe (delicious!). Bonus: these brownies are an excellent source of fiber 🙂

GF Black Bean Brownies (makes 12)

1-15oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/3 c canola oil

3 eggs

1/2 c coconut flour (or GF flour of your choice, or all-purpose (not GF) )

3/4 c sugar (half white, half brown)

1/2 c cocoa powder

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 C 60% cocoa chocolate chips

1 tbl. instant espresso powder, optional

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8in. pan with cooking spray. Using a food processor, pulse the black beans until almost smooth. Add all other ingredients except chocolate chips and blend until smooth. Add chips in and pulse just until mixed in. Spread into baking pan and bake for 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Optional: sprinkle a few chocolate chips on top for a quick “frosting” and spread around once melted. (also optional, top with toasted coconut)

note: these are definitely best right out of the oven, warm. they get dry and crumbly as they sit so gobble up quickly 🙂

Nutrition Facts (per brownie)

calories 200, fat 10g (sat. fat 3g), total carb 24g, fiber 6g, sugar 10g, protein 6g

YUMM!

New Year’s Resolution/Training Update:

My goals for 2012 were pretty lofty… see here. But I’m proud to say that I’m right on track in the training process for what will be my 3rd marathon. I had an 18 miler for this last run and only 5 weeks to go (2- 20 milers, 2-15 milers and a 10)! I’ve had very weird experiences in my marathons… the first was pouring down rain on a suuuper hilly course (worst day of my life) and the 2nd was supposed to be fun until my training buddy got hurt 4 miles in (boo). I was left to run solo being very used to having a friend to talk to. This one has been pretty strange too. I haven’t trained liked I wanted to, sort of making it up as I go and only running 3 days/week. I’m not beating myself up if I miss a run or a CT workout and have actually had really nice weather for the longs. My CT has been pretty sparse as life has gotten in the way of my fantastic training schedule. But I’m doing ok. I feel good. I’m enjoying it, and ready to see what #3 brings.

*****

How are you doing with your New Year’s Resolutions?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

