Summer Update

Hello, friends! Has this been as busy of a summer for you as it has been for me? That’s what I thought 🙂

I took a couple months off to enjoy the sunshine (making that Vitamin D), find new ways to exercise, get some R&R, and experiment in the kitchen. I hope you did the same.

A little recap:

The beginning of June was spent with trips to the zoo:

…preparing for my brother’s wedding (which was gorgeous) & baking/decorating 300+ cupcakes and a 2 tier cake 🙂 TONS of fun. But that meant that the rest of June was for rest and recovery. haha.

Cake table!

Me and my beautiful sister-in-law

Fun!

… My nephew, Liam, turned 1! (see pic above)

…My friend and I began training for a triathlon together. I always recommend training with a friend. My second marathon was done with a friend too. It makes the time fly by and you can enjoy each other’s company while doing the body good! Anyway, Steph and I finished the women’s tri together with smiles 🙂 Then instead of using the next day to recover, I did a sprint tri! That’s my style…keep pushing! (Sorry, no picture 😦 )

I started crossfit this summer and fell in love. Too bad the budget won’t allow it to continue. With a hot water heater to replace, car to save for, and a new roof needed (etc!), other things have the priority. HOWEVER, don’t get me wrong. I DID NOT say that other things have taken priority over exercise. No way. So the hubs and I have done a little gym hopping. The important thing is that it makes no difference what facility is being used. It could be a park, your neighborhood sidewalk, a fancy gym, or crossfit warehouse. You make do with what you have, and you adapt. I’m just thankful for the arms and legs I have been given and that I have the luxury of stepping out the front door and am able to go for a run.

Just go.

Now on to August…Steve and I vacationed in beautiful Virginia, visiting 2 of my most favorite people in the world 🙂

Mom & Dad! My pics from this trip are on my other computer… this will do.

…Steve, me, and my brother and sister-in-law did an Adventure race in Cbus. So fun!

We got 12th out of 125 teams!

…No kids here so back to school hasn’t meant that much to me. Rather it has been a month to reflect and plan. I love that I’m young and have my “whole life ahead of me.” I have dreams and aspirations, and am starting to take baby steps towards them. I’m excited about what the future holds. Projects are brewing and I’ll be sure to keep you posted along the way.

Let’s leave it at that. I hope your summer has been fruitful. Please share a fun experience that you’ve had!

My quinoa casserole recipe will be coming soon!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

