6 in 6… I dare you!

A large part of my job is to dispel myths and answer questions about fad diets and popular supplements. In the past week I have had noticed countless friends seeking nutrition advice from people who are not qualified, many have tried a fad diet, and I have even been offered (not once, but twice) to buy try a popular supplement touted to work magic (from normalizing vitamin D and iron levels to weight loss to providing energy to making you a body builder).

With all this pressure why wouldn’t you think one of those things is bound to work?! Don’t take this as me complaining about my job. Don’t get me wrong; I LOVE my job. However, admittedly, I get frustrated weekly if not daily about people trying everything under the sun except for researched-based information.I can talk until I’m blue in the face about the truth about weight loss. But because I don’t have a “instant” pill or say anything crazy, I get tuned out. My way is too hard (or) easy… I can’t figure out which.

So that’s the premise of this challenge. I’m annoyed to say the least. LISTEN UP PEOPLE. Weight loss is science. It’s easy. The behavior change is the hard part. The behavior change is the part that gets us every time. We don’t get to the 21 day mark when a behavior becomes a habit because we give up too quickly. Let’s change that!

We have 6 weeks until Christmas. This is the time of the year that we advise people to maintain their weight and just try not to gain. I’m going against the grain. I want to PROVE to you that weight loss is possible with just diet and exercise (and even during the holidays). The goal is 1# per week (although some may be able to do a bit more and some a bit less). My body is pretty content at its current weight. It hasn’t changed in 4 years… so my goal is to prove that those “last 5#” can be lost. I also believe that my job is one that requires a “practice what you preach” mentality. If I ask you to do it then why can’t I?

Are you in??? I will provide along the way: my weekly menu plan, 1-2 recipes from my plan, my workouts , and insights into my daily eating habits. Will you follow with me? Just think, you could go into Christmas 6 lbs. lighter!

Don’t get me wrong. This will not be easy. I will be practicing some serious discipline. Currently, I essentially eat what I want. I will still do that, but with better portion control and restraint. I recommend MyFitnessPal for tracking your food and drink calories. (*note: a dietitian can provide you with personalized goals and tips, but this site/app is a great tool to start with)

READY?? 3…2…1… GO!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. 6 in 6 Challenge: Week 1 « Ramblings of an RD

Leave a Reply

